top of page

Frequently Asked Questions

General

Should the Lantern deck be reshuffled?

Only at the beginning of the game but not during. Lanterns should be discarded at the bottom of the Lantern deck.

What do we do when we run out of cards in the Item deck?

Once the item deck has two or less cards, the discard pile can be reshuffled and added underneath the Item deck. Always leave the top card of the discard pile there and shuffle everything taken beneath it.

Am I allowed to Discard more cards than I need to at the end of my turn?

Yes, you may wish to discard certain cards from your hand that do not benefit you but are at risk of being stolen.

Can I Block a Block?

No. A Block can only be used to stop a challenge.

What's the difference between a Critical attack and an Unevadable Attack?

Critical Attacks are attacks which can't be evaded or stopped in any way. They are generally only made by using an ability. Attacks made with an extra card are Unevadable Attacks, and cannot be evaded with the Ash Lantern, but are not Critical, and may be able to be avoided by other methods, such as the Sake Master’s Brewer’s Dance.

What is the Hand Limit?

During your turn, your hand limit is infinite and you cannot max out your hand. When it's not your turn, your hand limit is four. If it's not your turn and the number of cards in your hand exceeds the hand limit, immediately discard down to the limit. If an ability allows you to draw cards when it's not your turn, you may only draw up to the hand limit, not over it, unless the ability explicitly allows it.

When do cards move to the discard pile?

Cards move to the discard pile when the action they were involved in resolves.

Lanterns and Challenges

Can I Summon multiple times with the Spirit Lantern in one turn?

No. Even if you end up losing a Spirit Lantern and picking one up.

Can I Steal multiple times with the Shadow Lantern in one turn?

No. Even if you end up losing a Shadow Lantern and picking one up.

What happens if I steal someone's last item card and they lose the challenge against my Shadow Lantern?

The card is stolen first, then they lose a life.

Can I Transform Leaf cards multiple times with the Mist Lantern in one turn?

Yes. Also, if you play a Block to transform, you can't be rechallenged a second time on that same turn.

What happens if I take someone's last item card with a Leaf played as a Sake and they lose the challenge against my Mist Lantern?

If they did not have the card you requested and thus do not get the leaf, then the card is taken first, then they lose a life.

What happens if I request a card with Sake and someone gives me a transformed Leaf?

If it a transformed leaf and clarified as such, then you may decide to challenge that person's Mist Lantern or not. The same rules apply as normal regarding Challenges.

If I block a challenge against my Ash Lantern, do I Evade all attacks until the end of the turn?

No. If a player makes a second evadeable attack against you in the same turn, you must claim the Ash Lantern again to evade it. They may also challenge you again.

If I bluff about having a Mist lantern and play a Leaf which is the last card in my hand, do I lose a life?

No. The leaf returns to your hand before the challenge resolves. As you then have a card in your hand, you discard your hand and don't lose a life.

Spirit Lords

Can I Steal or Force Trade from the Tailed Shisu if they're out of the game?

No. The Tailed Shisu's cards are proteted and unaffected by any abilities while they're out.

Do I discard a Tanuki of the Hearth or Snowblood Tanuki of the Hearth's Mark when they die?

Marks created by the Tanuki of the Hearth’s Shallow Blade's Mark should not be removed when the Tanuki of the Hearth is killed, they should only be removed if the Marked Spirit Lord takes damage, or at the end of the Tanuki of the Hearth’s next turn. The Tanuki of the Hearth can Mark another Spirit Lord, be killed, revive, and make use of the Mark. If the Tanuki of the Hearth fails to revive, their turn ends and the Mark can be removed.

Can I claim the Ash Lantern if I back down after the Snowblood Fox of the Mirage uses Raise Stakes when I challenge their Mist Lantern as part of an attack?

If the Snowblood Fox of the Mirage attacks, claiming to use a Mist lantern, their target challenges them, the Snowblood Fox of the Mirage uses Raise Stakes and their target backs down, the target may not then claim the Ash lantern.

Do I lose multiple lives if I'm playing as the Tailed Shisu and lose a challenge affected by the Snowblood Fox of the Mirage's Raise Stakes?

No. You only lose one life, and keep your cards.

If I'm playing the Sake Master and play a Sake to redirect an attack, can I choose to redirect the attack to no-one?

No. If there is a valid target, the Sake Master must redirect the attack to them. If there are multiple valid targets, the Sake Master may choose which of the Spirit Lords to redirect the attack to. If there are no valid targets, then the Sake Master nullifies the attack.

bottom of page